Faith and Sports: Curry

Today, I am going to talk about something a little different. I am going to talk about an outspoken christian man in sports. Steph Curry is a christian sports star who has enjoyed a successful career in the NBA. Steph Curry has enjoyed major success, winning an NBA Final with the Golden State Warriors and two consecutive MVP titles in 2014 and 2015.

Steph Curry has shown that through his outstanding success, he can stay humble and use it as a way to glorify God. With so many fans (Steph Curry has the top-selling jersey in the NBA for the second straight year), Steph has the “right” to gloat and brag, yet you can find him praising his teammates and (of course) God for the success of his team. When Curry won the MVP for the second straight year in 2015, he said “I {Steph} want to thank God, obviously for the health, for the talent he’s given me, for my family who supports me, for the things that basketball’s taught me on and off the court. For the people that I’ve been able to meet through the game of basketball. I’ve been blessed in that regard through and through.” Even winning such a prestigious honor and joining the likes of Micheal Jordan, LeBron James, and other stars, Curry made sure that the honor was given to God rather than to himself and his talent. Another cool thing that Curry does to show Christ is putting a verse on his signature Under Armor shoes. On the “Curry 2,” you can find “I can do all things..” on the side, an abbreviated version of his favorite verse found in Philippians 3:14 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

What an outstanding thing to see. Through so much success, Curry somehow has kept a strong hold on his faith and humility.

download

Leave a Reply

